Skip navigation


Today’s ponderings were inspired by this post over at A Half Hour a Day.

It got me thinking, “Hmmm, what are our words?”

“Shine On Me” (Cranesbill, Hardy Geranium ‘Bevan’s Variety’) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/8, 1/160s, -1.0EV, ISO 200, Built-in Rear-Curtain Slow i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong “Puffer” Diffuser, -1.0EV

In this house…

Dust is rampant

We are forgetful

Critters come first

We eat with our hands

We are friendly and kind, generous and loyal

We dance and sing (poorly)

We laugh often (and loudly)

We converse with the cat

We sweat, fart and belch

Laundry piles up, floors get dirty

We get cranky for no reason

We are sarcastic

We give kisses and hugs freely

We share the good and the bad

We are flawed

We take things for granted

We say we’re sorry

We forgive

We try to do better than “fine”

We do happy

We do love

We do forever.

What are your words?

44 Comments

  1. Wow the words… double, …no triple wow the image!

    • Thank you, Kiwi!!! You are sweet!

      But, where are your words, hmmm?

      • They are buried at the moment under study and a multitude of other stuff going on… some of it stupidly stressful.
        Luckily though the strength and love of my immediate family will get me though. Time for my words right now… is later.

      • Many apologies for such a flippant question on my part, Kiwi. I should know better. Sigh. Yes, you are dealing with more stressors right now than humanly possible. You are correct, though. You will get through. Hugs.

  2. Okay…now I want a Do-over!!!!
    We say we’re sorry (A LOT!) and we do forever toooooo!!!!! (O’Hana [sp.?] means nobody gets left behind…or forgotten.)
    Aw man!! Why didn’t I think of those?! 😉

    • LOL!!! 🙂 You are too funny! (Yes, you spelled Ohana correctly. LOVE that word).

      Your words were PERFECT!! and inspiring! But, I get it.

      Even now, I can think of others….

      We cook, we drink (repeat)
      We gather around the table
      We tell stories ’round the fire
      Cathair is found everywhere
      We curse (more than we should)
      We speak our minds
      We push buttons (sometimes on purpose)
      We withhold judgement
      We are united

      Damn. We are gonna need a bigger wall… 😉

  3. the lighting here is exquisite!

    • Thanks, Derrick! 🙂

      Guess I haven’t lost my touch! 😉

      • Of course not! I just figured ya’ll went to Disney for a bit! 🙂

      • Ha! Yeah, I wish! Nope, just been a bit lazy and enjoying the summer weather here. When the impulse strikes me though, watch out! 😉

  4. Love the image – the contrast is super. And the words…sound like us, especially: dust is rampant…

    • Many, many thanks, Tom! This is a plant I’ve attempted to photograph before and didn’t achieve what I wanted. When I saw the light striking this particular bloom I knew I just had to photograph it!

      Sigh… Dust is my nemesis. I’ve learned to realize it simply comes with owning an old house. Better things to do than clean, right? 😉

  5. That photo is amazing And I like your words – I think they cover pretty well how things are in our old house too. Many people around here live in large, new houses with outer walls made ​​of glass or large white surfaces as walls in the house. The gardens consist almost entirely of paved surfaces and grass ….. Such a place I could not thrive!

    • Thank you, Truels!! 🙂

      I agree with you…I like old and worn and “lived in” and loved over pristine and perfect. Must be the “wild child” in me! 🙂

  6. Beautiful photo and a wonderful, happy, normal, family poem

    • Thanks, Lynn!

      Well, “normal” is a relative term, isn’t it? 😉

  7. Beautiful image to go with your beautiful words. 🙂

  8. Intriguing photo! You always find a most unique way to showcase a bloom. I saw KD’s post too and thought it was pretty cool. I think words for around here would include some from both your lists, and I’d probably include “covered in dog fur!” 😉

    • Thank you, Karma! You are too kind. 🙂

      Ha! Yes, those critters DO shed alot, don’t they? 😉

      I can see that BUT your version would say “We dance well“. 🙂

  9. Oh, what a beautiful and perfect portrait of this flower, you make it look like a lovely ballerina with a colorful creative and giving soul. Just like your words about the family spirit. The next family Christmas card you make should be inclusive some of those lucky critters, that would surely be cute.

    • Birgitte – you write so eloquently! I like the visual you have painted…a flower with a soul caught in mid-dance. What is more lovely than that? 🙂

      The critters have graced a card or two I must admit. Some of them, quite un-cooperatively! 😉

      Thank you for your wonderful comment! 🙂

  10. I love your words and image so much! Trying to think of our words… we are silly, we are inconsistent, we are baseball, we are craft beer, we are children in adult bodies, we love maine, we are love.

    • Thanks, Becky! 🙂

      Aw, your words are great! LOVE the “We are children in adult bodies“. Yeah, we can relate. 😉

  11. Certainly never any dust gathering on your style, M.P…
    fantastically… fantastical!
    🙂

    • Thanks much, Sig! I really wish I’d get inspired more often. These gaps between posts are getting ridiculous!

      Thank you, as always, for your continued encouragement! 🙂

  12. Absolutely terrific, Tracy! That shot is stunning in its color and clarity. And the words, outstanding! So glad that you do ‘forever’. (and really glad to see you post!)

    • Thank you, Ted! I do appreciate your supprt! 🙂

      I’m very, very lucky to have found another who also believes in “forever”. Without him, my life wouldn’t be what it is. It is truly a blessing.

  13. Not in mood for the words right now even though yours are inspiring and making one think about life and that’s great. Lovely Geranium photo with great composition and light. You haven’t lost a touch, no need to worry 😉

    • Ha! I completely understand “moods”, Tomas! (Hence the “We get cranky for no reason“). I hope yours gets brighter and that your words come forth in a future post.

      Thank you for your kind words. Very much appreciated. 🙂

  14. Tracy, your words idea got stuck in my mind and I simply has to participate:
    In our house:
    We love each other
    We care for each other
    We enjoy good food and drinks (a lot and very often)
    We do our chores without delight
    We watch pheasants and roebucks through our windows (daily)
    We watch movies
    We listen to music (seldom)
    We read books (a lot)
    We shout at each other (sometimes) and then regret it
    We forgive
    We say we are sorry
    We plan everything together
    We share all good and bad
    We keep both festive and daily moments in our minds and on photos and videos
    We work with computer (a lot)
    We are painful without apparent reasons (sometimes).

    I think that I could go on for quite long time but what was written already expresses us mostly.

    • I understand how this post gets one to think even when you believe you can’t come up with anything. That is how it was for me when I read the inspiring post over on that other blog. My words simply began to pour out. Love that. 🙂

      Thank you for your words, Tomas! They’re great!

  15. That is exquisite! We do forever in my house too!

  16. You do not have a house, you have a home. 🙂

  17. I agree with Giiid… looks like a dancing ballerina! Splendid in every way.

  18. Gosh, I love these words that you have strung together and make your own. So beautiful! And this pic is amazing. Sorry its been so long, but I always seem to find something amazing when I do get a chance to get on the computer and visit your blog. You never disappoint.

    • Aw, thanks so much, Amy. *blush* Your kind words have made my day today. 🙂

  19. Wow, that’s fantastic!

  20. So lovely… the multi-color is much delighting!

    • Ha! Your comment made me smile today! Thanks much for that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

