Skip navigation


With the hot temperatures we’ve been experiencing in the Northeast lately (not complaining…I love summer!), I thought it fitting to showcase a ‘hot’ flower.

“Seeing Red” (Red Zinnia) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/5.6, 1/200s, ISO 640

Zinnias are a wonderful potted annual for my landscape for many reasons:

  • they are easy to grow
  • they come in a variety of colors (pinks, yellow, oranges, corals, reds, etc.) adding ‘pop’s of color just where I need it
  • and, the critters don’t eat them!

 
What’s not to love? 😉

37 Comments

  1. Beautiful shot, Tracy! I love the details and the focus. 🙂

    • Thank you, Ted!! Your comments are always so very much appreciated! 🙂

  2. Gorgeous shot, the colors so rich! Zinnias do add wonderful color. Hope you’ve had an excellent summer so far.

    • Thank you, Becky!! I used to buy Gerbera Daisies and Sunflowers but, alas, the critters LOVE them and I would find my pots devastated. One year, I bought Zinnias and was THRILLED to find that the critters ignored them! Woo hoo!

      The summer has bee really nice. Lots of time with the pool (tho, the hot temps do cause issues with pool chemistry which has been a bit aggravating but who can really complain with warm summer nights spent poolside, grilling and sipping a cocktail? Not I! 🙂 ) and we’ve been able to enjoy the landscape we spend so much time and energy making nice.

      I hope you’ve been having a good summer, too! 🙂

  3. Very nice capture. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks, Rick! You are very kind! 🙂

      I’m a sharer…what can I say? 😉

  4. I wish this was the ONLY type of HOT I was experiencing! Nice.

  5. I don’t like HOT, but I do like this kind of hot! 🙂 I actually bought a gorgous pot of Zinneas at the farmstand the other day. You have inspired me to get out there and do the same. Well……yours of course will be better than mine……..but I’ll give it a go! *wink*

    • Ha! Yes, I figured you weren’t quite a ‘summer girl’ with your ‘Countdown to Autumn’ that is on your blog! 🙂

      Aw, thanks so much, Carol. I bet you are WRONG and your Zinnia photos will be amazing!! 🙂

  6. the splash of green makes this shot really pop! nicely done, lass!

    • Thank you, Derrick! It was actually the leaf (well, that and the lighting on the bloom) that made me focus on this particular flower. I really like the layering effect. So glad you noticed! 🙂

  7. I too love zinnias! If my neighbor would sell me his half lot I would plant a vegetable and cutting garden and there would be a full row of zinnias!! 🙂 They are such happy little flowers.

  8. Great shot! Zinnias are always one of my favorites to grow – easy too!

    • Many thanks! Me, too and – agreed! 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  9. Hot and beautiful. Please send some of it over here! Or even to Africa (!) – I was surprised by the low temperatures in Ngorongoro and Serengeti ( because of the location in more than 1500 meters above sea level… )

    • Thanks, Truels! 🙂

      Can’t do that! Our summer’s are oh-so-very short as it is that I hold onto every hot temp I can get! Sorry! 😉

  10. Beautiful, detailed shot. I love zinnias because you’re right… what’s not to love? 🙂

  11. Might get some of those myself… Do they also do the dishes though, and / or cook !!… 😉

  12. Love those reds – really beautiful. Hold the starch, though.

    • Thank you, Tom! 🙂

      Hehehe…I’l let the zinniaz know but I doubt they accomodate speical requests. 😉

  13. Gorgeous red! Love the way you’ve chosen the focus.

  14. Gorgeous! Love the colors!

  15. Such lovely colors together!

    • Thank you, Birgitte! I’d love to take credit but Mother Nature did all the work! 🙂

      • Almost, because YOU chose how to show it. 🙂

  16. Puuuuuurdy!
    And easy to grow!? I ‘likes’ that!
    *om nom nom*
    Wait… I wasn’t supposed to eat them? Oh boy.
    🙂

    • Thanks! Ha! Yes, even YOU could grow these, Sig! 🙂

      BUT, you’ll want to stick with marigolds or pansies for edibility…wouldn’t want you to get a tummyache. 😉

  17. Great photo, Tracy. By the way, have you tried to rotate it 90 degrees clockwise?

    • Thank you, Tomas! 🙂

      Hmmm, I hadn’t, but on your suggestion I did, but I found that my focus was now shifted since the leaf, especially the lighter portion, draws my eye away from the flower. I also found things to be sort of out of focus with no real point of where my eye should be landing. Interesting exercise!

      I tend to “see” and frame items through my lens in a way they make sense to me. It is rare that I photograph one orientation and then rotate to another (tho, it has happened).

  18. A real gem of a close-up. Beautiful colours.

    • Aaaaah, this image makes me smile as it brings me back to the happy days of summer (Fall/Winter are tough seasons for this “Summer” gilr. 😉 )

      Thank you so very much for your comment!


Leave a Reply

