Skip navigation


“Coy” (Dairy Goat Kid) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/8, 1/80s, ISO 200

The last time I went to Richardson’s Dairy, I was amazed to see the rafters of the cow barn filled with pigeons. It was really cold out that day and the pigeons were certainly smart to find refuge inside the warm barn. 

At the time, I made a mental note to return on a sunnier day with the hope that the sunlight pouring in through the roof windows would make a nice image (something like this… pigeons above with beams of light shining down on the herd of Holstein cows grazing and sleeping in the stalls below).  

Today I returned to the farm thinking THIS would be THE day to capture that 

“Cute” (Dairy Goat Kid) Nikon D300, 200m, F/8, 1/125s, ISO 200

image. However, the light wasn’t all that great and with 60 degree temps, the pigeons weren’t even IN the barn but rather, sitting outside on the electrical wires! Sigh.  

So, I hung with the cows for a bit waiting for some divine inspiration to occur, but when the stench reached an intolerable level, I decided to take a stroll around the grounds. 🙂  

The young calf’s roaming freely in the outside pen were sweet, but it was an adorable dairy goat kid that stole my heart!   

Just look at this face!  

The li’l goat kept posing for the camera as if in its own impromptu photo shoot! 

“Flirt” (Dairy Goat Kid) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/8, 1/80s, ISO 200

Don’t these look like they were shot in a studio?? 

They weren’t. 

The little goat was standing just inside the doorway of an ingloo-shaped shelter made of thick plastic. Toplit and backlit, the inside glowed yielding this suede-looking backdrop.  

Cool!  

I could have photographed him (her?) all day long but, unfortunately, other stops were still on my to-do list. So, I bid the sweet little creature Adieu and went on my way.  

I smiled all the way home and then had to laugh when I realized that goat was the most cooperative model I’ve ever had! 🙂

16 Comments

  1. hahaha how sly is that goat in the third pic! amazing. beautiful focus in the pics. and while i’m here, i’ll also comment on the GORGEOUS flower macro in the previous post because i’m afraid my comment would just get lost in the deluge of compliments. also, i looove the processing of the “decaying playground” series, and think the basketball hoop composition is really great. thanks for reading and commenting! i’m sure the kitty was ok (well, not really, because it did look pretty pathetic and feeble. but we were too afraid of catching lyme disease or something to try to help it.)

    • Hey, no fair combining comments all in one! (But, I’ll take it – ha!) Seriously, thanks. You are very kind, Stephen. That goat gave me more amazing expressions in the span of a few minutes than I’m sometimes able to coax out of most people! Seriously!

      More to come on the playground series. I’ve been having a ball taking those images and find I am getting very particular now that it is all, like a serious series and all. If it wasn’t going to snow (yikes!) tomorrow, I’d be out again getting some more of the shots still on my list.

      (And, shame on you for not helping the kitty! Bad Stephen! Bad, bad Stephen! 😉 Now go to your room and think about what you did (or, er, didn’t do)).

      • sorry! i promise i’ll comment in the appropriate posts from now on. you just want to pad your comments stats, fess up!

        i do feel bad about the kitty, but really what are you gonna do when you’re on the third story roof of a temple in tibet and find a sick cat? we sent it loving thoughts from a safe-from-airborne-diseases distance. otherwise who knows what pathogen i might have caught and then i wouldn’t be able to sit here and blog about it.

  2. Looks like you have a jump on the field if goat portraiture becomes a hot item…nice. 😀

  3. Did you get a model release? I think you could should hit up the goat mags with these. There’s a goat auction near me every few months and I am amazed at the price some of the breeding stock fetch.

    • lol! Well, when I put the release in front of the goat, s/he ATE it! 🙂

      There are GOAT magazines??? Really? Wow. Maybe they could help me identify the breed – I think it is a dairy goat (dairy farm so good guess on my part) but not really sure. Hard to tell from images on the net. How do I go about shopping the images around? (People tell me this about many of my images and frankly, I am completely ignorant on exactly how to do this, what to charge, how I protect them from being stolen, etc.) Sigh. I hate the business side of this business…

      • Aye, I’m not too versed on how to do it as well. The old way of sending slides to photo editors is way out of date.

        By law, the moment you create something, you own the rights and it is copyrighted in the eye of the law of the US. You can submit CDs full of photos to the US Copyright office for further protection.

        I am sure you are embedding your copyright via the photo’s Exif data which gives some measure of protection as most people don’t know about it.

        Microstock is something I have looked at but have never pursued. Read very contradictory things about it.

  4. Yes! Just look at that face! A star is born.

    • Yep, definitely a candidate for ‘Miss Kid Goat 2010’! 🙂

  5. Goats are sweet and this one did do well posing.

    • Thanks, Lynn! I’ve not had much goat experience, but if this one is to go by, then yes, they are very, very sweet! 🙂

  6. Haha, too cute! He/she looks a little mean in the first one, though.

    • Thanks, Michaela! Yeah, a little cutie indeed!:-)

      I disagree. Can’t you see that playful smile?? C’mon, I don’t think there is a mean bone in that little goat’s body. 😉

  7. The kid goat though is absolutely adorable!! It looks like it is really posing for the cam 🙂 I LOVE the “flirt” one, sooooo cute.

    • I know! S/he was really, really funny! Just one of thos photo ops that sort of happen and I was thirlled when they came out so good! 🙂


Leave a Reply

