Skip navigation


I’m just getting around to processing the photos I took back in early July but surprisingly, this post appears to be rather timely. Afterall, one could say we are smack dab in the “dog days of summer” so why not think about dogwoods?

My white Kousa Dogwood did not disappoint and just like last year, I wanted to try to photograph the gorgeous blossoms in a unique manner, despite the fact that my once small tree is now enormous and the flowers are getting a little out of reach! (Oh, the difficulties of being vertically challenged… 😉 )

Good thing the branches are flexible and can be pulled down allowing my macro lens closer access.

I’m not one to let “sleeping dogs lie” so here, are my favorites:

“Dog(wood) Days of Summer” (White Kousa Dogwood, Cornus kousa) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/6.3, 1/40s, ISO 640, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser


 

“Top Dog” (White Kousa Dogwood, Cornus kousa) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5.6, 1/50s, ISO 640


 

“Wag the Dog” (White Kousa Dogwood Bracts, Cornus kousa) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5, 1/160s, ISO 1600, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, -1.0EV


 
Pretty, aren’t they?

However, before this summer “goes to the dogs” , I must “dog it” and get back to the pool where I am always “happier than a flea in a doghouse” . 😀

20 Comments

  1. These are doggone beautiful, Tracy! I especially like the curves and lines in the top one. It has a very pleasing flow to it. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Ted! I appreciate your playing along with the “dog” theme as well as your wonderful comment! 🙂

  2. lol! Very pretty. Beautiful, in fact. I am dog tired this evening so I appreciate how things can go to the dogs. 🙂

    • Ha! Good one, Robin! Thank you for playing along and for your nice comment! 🙂

  3. SUCH stunning photos. I love the different angles and silky petals 🙂

    • Thankk you so very much! I always find it surprising as to what will make a photo interesting to me. The sunspots did it for me in the first one; the shallow DOF and center focus was the reason in the second one; and the placement of the curled bract and the gradated color background popped the third. 🙂

  4. You are a big dog in the world of macros! I just love that second shot, very cool looking.

    • Aw, thank you, Karma, for tossing this old dog such a wonderful bone! 🙂

  5. Those are really other worldly!

  6. That first shot is most alluring! Almost abstract!! Nicely done!

    • Alluring – I like it! If only I could make my images say “buy me…BUY ME!” 😉

      Thanks, Derrick! 🙂

  7. Wow…the middle photo is macro-nificent! Enjoy the pool!

    • Thank you, Scott! 🙂

      Yes, I will! Our weather has been pool-rific! 😉

  8. Ah, the beauty of the simple kousa captured perfectly!

  9. Am amazed at the details you got in these shots here!

  10. One of my favorite flowers, so beautifully captured.

    • Thank you, Lisa! I appreciate your kind comment. I love Kousa’s, too, and for years, simpy could not get a decent image no matter what. Time, experience, practice and patience has paid off. 🙂


Leave a comment