Skip navigation


So, we’re back from one short trip to Disney World and about to embark on another one! (Lucky us, no? 😉 ) Don’t get too jealous as this is our only real vacation each year and by the time it arrives, we soooooo need it!

“Animated Mickey” (Filmstrip Mickey Sculpture, Animation Courtyard, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 40mm, F/14, 1/320s, +0.3EV, ISO 200, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, -0.7EV, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

I didn’t take many photos this trip as I was too busy eating and drinking at the EpCoT Food & Wine Festival. (Hey, it’s a tough job, folks but someone has to do it. 😉 ) And, until the camera manufacturers develop a ‘drunk photographer’mode, I thought it best not to handle complicated equipment. 

After returning home I realized that the only time I carried my Nikon D300 was one morning’s outing to Disney’s Hollywood Studios.

I really love the feeling at the studios, especially in Animation Courtyard where the focus is on what made Disney a household name in the first place – animation! Ever since the onset of computers, hand-drawn cels are becoming extremely rare but here at the studios, they keep the tradition alive.

“Celluloid Mickey” (Mickey Sculpture, Animation Courtyard, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 90mm, F/11, 1/500s, +0.3EV, ISO 200, Nik Silver Efex Pro ‘Solarized Border’ Filter

This is one of the few places where they are still producing hand-painted cels and during the week, you can watch as actual Disney animators perform their craft right before your eyes. (Hmmm, I wonder how many of us would like to be ‘on display’ while we work?)

In the back right-hand corner of the courtyard stands a sculpture I’ve photographed on several occasions with only so-so results. This time I shot from a low angle, using the sky as the background and therefore, was able to eliminate all the distracting elements that have ruined the image in the past. 

Still not quite sure I’ve achieved what I ultimately want but, these two images are the closest I’ve gotten. No worries. I’m willing to go back and try as many times as it takes. 😉

24 Comments

  1. Epcot is great. Everyone I speak to always moans about it but I really enjoyed that long dinosaur ride thing with Ellen as the presenter.

    • I agree! I LOVE ‘Ellen’s Energy Ride!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Michael!

  2. Drunk photographer mode. 🙂 Come on, Nikon! Forget updates to the camera bodies, just get us some software updates! 🙂

    I love these photos. The perspective is terrific. Love the clouds too. A blue sky would have made them too happy, but now you just notice the shapes, and curves and Mickey. Well done here. 🙂

    • I know!!! Seriously, right? 😉

      Thanks so very much, Katie! I’ve actually photographed them with the blue sky behind and found it to be too cliche. So glad you ‘get’ me! 🙂

  3. Do you think you might need a maid on your return trip? I can be ready in a flash. XOXOXO

    • Luckily, maid service is provided with the room! 🙂

      You and dad really should plan a trip here. You’d love the festival!

      Love you!

  4. The only thing wrong with these photos is that our family aren’t standing next to this Mickey with you…LOL
    Cool angle and great shots! ( and I totally agree with the eating and drinking bit) gotta get your priorities right after all 🙂

  5. Excellent images, Tracy. I really like how the second image came out. To me, it speaks of how Mickey started out as Steamboat Willie in B&W.

    • Thanks so much, Ted!

      YES! Steamboat Willie!!! That is exactly the era and feeling I was aiming for! 🙂

  6. I think you’ve done great job with these, especially the second. And as far as the ‘drunk photographer’ mode, Adobe and their new Deblur function could soon come to our rescue… 🙂

  7. Ha, ha! Drunk photographer mode. Cute. But you must have a cell phone of some sort with a camera, no? I wanted see pictures of all the food and wine! Must be an incredible experience.

    • Amazingly enough, until two days ago, all I had was a VERY old cel phone. I now have an iPhone, so things are much better! 🙂

      It IS incredible here during the festival. The food & wine are beyond expectations. I promise to try to get some food/wine photos! 🙂

      • What sort of festival has food and wine available? That sounds more like a jolly or an opera weekend.

        I put it to you, sir, that you are a fraud and a bounder.

      • Oh, only the best kind! 😉

        And that is ‘Miss’, thank you…

      • Whoops, sorry! I tend to associate squirrels as a male type thing for some reason (I associate cats with females in the same way).

        I bloody love squirrels though. They are jittery, jumpy and agile little buggers that can jump insane distances from one branch to another. They are fantastic creatures.

        Check this video out. It’s from an old, popular advert here in the UK:

      • Ah, but my avatar is actually a chipmunk so therein lied your confusion! 😉 (If interested, the whole image can be seen here: https://milkayphoto.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/caught-in-the-act/ ).

        I agree all you say about squirrels. Our landscape is home to both the Eastern Grey as well as the American Red Squirrel. We simply cannot get enough of their antics and they cannot get enough of the peanuts we put out! However, the chipmunks are defininitely our favorite. Do a search on my blog for ‘chipmunk’ and ‘squirrel’ if you want to see some adorable images! Also, last spring we were fortunate to have a nest of Red Squirrels and I did a few posts on them including a video of the youngin’s playing.

        That video is great! I do remember it and the spy music do makes it! You cannot deny the squirrel’s intelligence!

  8. Yes, a drunk photographer mode would be useful at times. 😉

    I like what you did with the sculpture. I imagine it wouldn’t be too much of a hardship to keep trying if you’re not satisfied with them. lol!

  9. Very cool, M.P…
    you really have created a wonderful retro feel in that second image (I love it)!
    🙂

    • Thank you, SIG! Yeah, that second image is my fav, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

