Skip navigation


Our journey into the Magic Kingdom continues…

To avoid getting photographically bored (gasp!) when you’ve been fortunate enough to visit this park as often as we have, you learn to notice the details. There isn’t much the Imagineers can get past me these days. πŸ˜‰

For example, while strolling down the sidewalk on Main Street, USA, I spotted a newΒ addition embedded in the brickwork:

“Portal to Magic” (Portal Icon – Main Street USA, ‘Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom’ Interactive Adventure, Magic Kingdom Park, Walt Disney World) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 9.9mm, F/4, 1/400s, ISO 100

At the time, I had no idea what I was photographing was part of the latest interactive adventure called “Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom”. This large bronze medallion tells game-players where magical portals are located within the park. Hmmmm, interesting… we will have to play this the next time we are there.

“La Fountaine de Cindrillon” (Cinderella Statue, Cinderella Fountain, Fantasyland, Magic Kingdom Park, Walt Disney World) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 17.3mm, F/4.5, 1/400s, ISO 100


 
 
 

Moving onward, we wanted to take a look at the progress being made over in the new expansion area that was formerly known asΒ Toontown.

However, on our way there, Cinderella’s Fountain captured my eye and once again, I got down low and shot upwards so as to isolate the statue’s silhouette against the brilliant blue sky.
 
 
 
 
 
 
For reference, this is what the fountain looks like shot straight on from the front.

Cinderella Fountain

Now, you can’t photograph Cinderella and not think about Prince Charming. πŸ™‚ Good thing his carrousel was close by and looking very colorful, washed in the Florida sunshine:

“Oh, So Charming” (Prince Charming Regal Carrousel, Fantasyland, Magic Kingdom Park, Walt Disney World) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 6.6mm, F/4, 1/1000s, ISO 100

Behind the carrousel we could catch glimpses of the construction taking place beyond the familiar Disney wooden barriers. Off in the distance, the new Beast CastleΒ rises out of the rocky hillside:

“Beast Castle” (Beast Castle Under Construction, Fantasyland Expansion, Magic Kingdom Park, Walt Disney World) Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, 69.2mm, F/5, 1/800s, ISO 100)

Many folks wonder why we keep returning to Disney time and time again, but for us, the answer is quite simple: “If they build it, we will come.” πŸ™‚

14 Comments

  1. Fantastic pictures! I love the angles.

    What did you think of the Disney expansion?

    • Thanks, Lou! You are very kind! πŸ™‚

      It looks impressive (for what we could see over the high barrier walls) and we were surprised at how much they appear to have done. Can’t wait to see the finished project!

  2. Can you go inside the castles? That would make for a great view from the top!! And, your perspective of the one statue is so much nicer than the one with the background in it. πŸ˜‰

    • Typically, you can only go into the base sections of any of the castles (restaurants and shopping). There is a guest room (as well as offices) on higher floors in Cinderella Castle but getting into those is well, by invitation only. πŸ™‚

      From what I understand, Beast Castle will contain ‘Be Our Guest’ restaurant, serving fast food by day and elegant dinners by night. I see nothing as far as any access to the higher levels of the structure.

      I really miss the old Skyway ride bewtween Frontierland and Tomorrowland…the view (and photo ops) from that high up were incredible! Too bad the only shots I have from that is way before I ever took photography seriously (the ride was removed in 1999 after a tragic accident involving a Disney maintenance employee).

      Thank you, Derrick. I was pretty pleased with the statue (silhouette) image. πŸ™‚ (I would have preferred her feet in the shot but there was a man sitting on the stone edge that I had to work around!)

  3. I. WANT. TO. GO. BACK… It’s been far too many years, and next time I might even take the kids… Not sure they’d be quite so accommodating of my photography though… Great shots Tracy..

    • Thank you, Bri! πŸ™‚

      Oh, you MUST go back! Your perspective on the parks would be so incredibly interesting! I can just imagine all the things you would ‘see’. It is difficult stopping to take photos, which is why you see so little from me these days. Let’s just say the enthusiasm of my travelling companion has worn thin in that regards… πŸ˜‰

  4. In 1995 – on my first – and so far only – trip to the United States I visited (with my then young daughters) Disneyland in Anaheim, Californa. It could be fun to see it again today! It is by the way funny that Disneyland apparently is just as exciting for many adults as it is for children! For me, Disney and Disney-land has always been associated with children’s “land” πŸ™‚

    • I think, Truels, that you would LOVE Disney World! I’ve never been to Disneyland, but hubby has, and he has said that hands down, there is much more to offer at WDW. I love the architecture and creativity there. It is a fantastic place to renew one’s creative juices. You just have to look past the attractions, rides and shopping.

      Thanks for sharing your story! If you ever plan on a trip to Florida let me know and I’ll be happy to pass along some tips! πŸ™‚

  5. A portal to magic? So… not a magical sewer cover, then?!
    Seriously, though… all great shots, M.P…
    I’m particularly fond of the silhouette… so nice!
    πŸ™‚

    • Ha! I actually thought it was some sort of sewer cover when I first saw it! But, I then remembered this was Disney afterall, so it couldn’t possibly be that simple. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks, Sig! πŸ™‚

  6. I just can’t believe you’ve been there so many times to have the opportunity to even think about becoming photographically bored – for someone from Australia, who hasn’t managed to get there once, it’s hard to wrap my head around πŸ™‚ Love that shot of Cinderella!

    • I know it sounds inconceivable, but it’s true! After the first 50 trips or so ( πŸ˜‰ ), things can blur and the magic can be ‘lost’. I work hard to not become complacent and do try to ‘see’ things with fresh eyes, but it isn’t always easy. Human nature, I guess. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks so much, JP! I just saw her in silhouette and I was off and running! πŸ™‚

  7. People ask me all the time about going back again and again. Hey, I enjoy it…that’s good enough for me. The Fantasyland expansion is going to be great!

    • At least you have kids! People usually are stunned when they hear we do not have any children yet we travel to Disney so very often. Eh….guess we’re kids at heart! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

