Skip navigation


Hey there! Hi there! Ho there! I’m baaaaaaack! 🙂

Vacation was wonderful…11 days of bright, blue skies, temps in the mid-to-high 80’s, NO humidity, NO rain, fantastic food & drink, afternoons lazing in the sun and all the fun and activities to be had at Walt Disney World. Aaaaaahhhhhh

“Get Your Ears On” (Mickey Mouse Ears, Walt Disney World) Nikon D300, 130mm, F/5.6, 1/40s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, Built-in Front Curtain Flash, -0.7EV

For this trip I only brought two lenses forcing myself to view the ‘happiest place on earth’ with fresh eyes. When you’ve been as often as we have it is so very easy for all the “magic” to become mundane…a ‘been there, shot that’ sort of thing. Not this time! I photographed whatever looked interesting to me and came home with more than 850 images. How many will be blog worthy? Well, you’ll just have to wait and see. 😉

Life has been even more hectic upon our return late Saturday as we are now in the midst of a kitchen renovation which began early Sunday morning. Since I’m the designated project manager, I’ve been meeting with the contractor and coordinating all the various subs. (As much as hubby and myself love to DIY, this project is a bit too large and complicated for our experienced skill set and once you get the City Inspectors involved – yes, I’m talkin’ permits here – any of the work we’d normally feel comfortable tackling ourselves now has to be performed by a ‘licensed professional’. Huh, go figure. 😉 )

That isn’t to say we aren’t having a hand in things. The new design is all mine and we did some of the demo work on Sunday/Monday as well as moved TWO refrigerators (thanks David and Megan!). And once several plumbing pipes are relocated, electrical and central vac runs re-routed, walls constructed, a granite counter extended, custom cabinetry built and installed, and the new refrigerator delivered and installed, trust me, there will be plenty of finish work for us to do.

Hmmmm, I wonder if I can get a discount if I wear my mouse ears?? 🙂

20 Comments

  1. Good to see you here again, knowing that you have had a relaxing holiday. Good luck with the kitchen renovation! 🙂

    • Thank you, Birgitte! What is making being back home easier is that we are currently in a warm spell. I think it was close to 80 today! Apparantly, Mother Nature is also not looking forward to winter’s coming! 🙂

  2. WELCOME BACK!!
    Cute pic, I can’t wait to see more (all of them?)
    Good luck with the kitchen, hope it all goes well and without any glitches.

    • THANKS M!! 😀

      Even hubby said I took ‘alot of great pics’ so I’m sure a whole bunch will make the blog! I guess I’m learning from you….shoot when you can so that you have LOTS of pics to post during those times when you can’t! 🙂

  3. Welcome back Tracy!
    I’m glad to learn that you enjoyed the vacation and looking forward to seeing lots of photos.
    Did you remenber to take photos of the kitchen before the work started?
    If you had the ears on here, you would get a lot of ‘understanding’ eyes 🙂

    • Thanks so much Carsten! 🙂

      YES, I’ve not only taken photos but also video before demo occured and will do so each day as the project progresses. It’s weird being able to ‘walk thru walls’! Our poor cat doesn’t quite know what to make of it all and doesn’t understand all the people and noise in the house!

      Awwwww, you’re a Disney fan, too? You would LOVE my side-entrance hallway! 🙂 Classic Mickey mosaic is inlaid in the cork floor (my design and installation), I custom designed and built a cantelevered hall table in the shape of Mickey ears and the walls are adorned with hand-painted Disney cels in a gallery-like setting. It’s like having a small piece of the ‘happiest place on earth’ right here at home!

  4. Welcome back! Sounds like a long road in front of you. I’ll look forward to the sharing of the Disney images you deem worthy!
    Gotta get back there one of these days. I haven’t been since 2005.

    • Thank you, Karma!

      The road shouldn’t be too long (famous last words, I know) as the kitchen renovation only involves the refrigerator wall. So far, things are going splendidly and I do hope they continue. I am a very good project manager and I also LOVE home improvement projects (especially when they are done) as I use them as a creative outlet. Some of my crazy ideas even work out! (Let’s just say, I’ve shocked a few people on more than one occaision). The fridge has been a thorn in our sides so to finally have the chance to have THE MOST AMAZING FRIDGE EVER as well as ‘fix’ alot of other non-functional issues is a DREAM. I am so excited! THAT is what gets me through the stressful parts of the project (schedules, the mess, etc.).

      As for photos, there will be LOTS of images coming! All are taken at Disney altho some won’t look like they were as I branched out of my macro and flower comfort zone and shot (gasp!) landscapes! Maybe I’ll evem play the ‘guess where this was taken’ game…hmmmmm.

      YES, you should soooooooo get yourself back there! I highly reccommend going during the Food & Wine Festival (running now). Sooooo yummy!

  5. Welcome Back, great shot and tones, sounds like a good time, looking forward to your photos

    • Thanks, Consuelo! Can’t believe less than a week ago I was in sunshine…oh how quickly reality comes! 🙂

  6. Welcome back and glad you had fun on your Disney getaway 🙂

  7. Glad you had a great vacation… LOVE Disney World too, and one of these days I plan to go back with my kids… lol… Can’t wait to see some of the more unique shots you’ve come up with… and good luck with the kitchen… I did my own once before and it seemed to never end… and I’d have to say it was a LOT smaller project than yours sounds… 😉

    • Thank you, Brian! Who says WDW is for kids?? I don’t have any and I LOVE The place! 😀

      Kitchen project is progressing. Today is a rare day with no contractors. I’m trying to enjoy my solitude while I can… 🙂

  8. I love your photos from Disney..I think my children were at Disney the same time you were. They were there from October 16 through October 22nd.

    I put up a new post on janlovespix with photos from my birthday party. Thought you might want to take a look. I’m still looking for someone to help with my new blog.

    • Thanks, Jan! Yes, they were there when we were there (13th – 23rd).

      I saw the pics and posted a comment over there. What fun! 🙂

  9. I want to thank you for leaving the great weather in Orlando. I, too, had eight days of fabulous blue skies, warm sunshine and comfortable evenings. It did rain about five hours before my flight home but I cannot complain.

    • You’re welcome, Scott!

      Made it hard to leave, didn’t it? 😉

  10. Image removed. I had a teenage writer do that post and I assumed the image was their own as she had a new camera and was playing around. I’m very particular about not using images especially ones watermarked.

    • I appreciate that. It will probably take a few days to getyout of my cache because I still see the image on the site.


Leave a Reply

