Skip navigation


“Falling” (Ice Crystals on Window) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/4, 1/250s, -0.3EV, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Bicolor 2’ Filter

What do you do when the outside temperature is 9 degrees F with a windchill factor of -4 degrees F? (Yikes, now that’s cold!)

Well, what I do (still dressed in my striped pajamas, I might add πŸ˜‰ ) is start shooting the ice crystals that have formed on the window panes.Β 

The trick to successfully capturing that feeling of utter cold is to change your camera’sΒ white balance setting to incandescent (this will add a blue hue to the entire image). In post, I pushed the frosty mood further with the addition of a cool-toned bi-color filter.Β 

Brrrrrr… if you need me, I’ll be tucked under the warm covers! πŸ™‚

57 Comments

  1. Ohhhhhhh. Gorgeous. Delicate and frosty. Stay warm!

  2. The windchill was -13 when I woke up, but no frost on my windows, so I am glad that you had some to shoot this beauty. I’ll be spending my day in a similar fashion.

    • Ugh, I didn’t check the windchill when I got up, but I have been noticing that it has been dropping as the day goes on (it is now -3 F). Brutal! I will have to psyche myself up to head out to the grocery or decide to starve this week!

      Thanks, Lynn! My old windows get frosty whenever the temps get below freezing. Hubby wants to switch them out but I do so love the wavy glass (AND the op to get images like this!) πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like some star fantasy, what a beautiful image, just goes to show there are always good photos to be had anywhere, anytime no matter how your dressed. Best photograph made in PJ’s I have seen!

    • Ha! Thanks so much, Darwin! Too bad there isn’t an official ‘Best Photo made in PJ’s’ award! πŸ˜‰

  4. Very cool! I’ve been looking to take a photo like that but we’ve been really lacking in frost around here. I think the weather must be too dry, because it has certainly been cold enough lately.

    • Thanks much, Karma! πŸ™‚

      Do you normally get frost forming on your windows? I thought it only happened here because ours are the single-paned, wavy glass kind from 1929 (we do have storms but they only do so much).

      Just got in from grocery shopping….I can’t BELIEVE how cold it is outside! Brutal!

  5. Stunning!! I Love it !!

    • Thank you, Bob! I’ll take ‘stunning’ any day! πŸ™‚

  6. What a super cool shot! None of our windows frost dang it!

    • Thanks, Becky! Trust me, it is better that they don’t! πŸ˜‰

  7. That’s where you’ve been!! Stay warm Tracy!!!

    (and love the pic.) πŸ˜‰

    • Yes! It was VERY cold overnight…me and my electric blanket were wonderful companions! πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Derrick!

  8. Looks awesome!!! Great thinking! Love it.

  9. Those are so beautiful. Nature provides the most amazing art.

    • She certainly does! Hooks me every time!

      Thank you, Tammy! πŸ™‚

  10. Not a good day to go lick a flagpole!
    Seriously, though… AWESOME shot, M.P… has an almost magical feel to me. And I love the faint warm-to-cool processing, too!
    πŸ™‚

    • You are correct about that, Sig! πŸ™‚ What keeps me going is knowing that on Friday I travel off to play in warmer temps. Looking forward to the sun on my face and trading in puffy coats, hats and gloves for cute sundresses and shorts!

      Thanks so much! I am now really pleased with this one, even though I did agonize over it a bit (as I always do) going back and forth on whether or not it was ‘worthy’ enough. If anyone ever wonders why I don’t post more it is becuase of the battles such as this that I have with ALL my images!

  11. First of all, great capture, Tracy. I really like it and your title gives it another dimension. Re. the cold, feel free to send some cold weather to central Europe πŸ™‚ We got first snow day before X-mas but it lasted only 2 days, otherwise we had temperatures still above 0C, usually between 0C and 5C, exceptionally attacking 8C. Last Friday snow started to fall and temperatures dropped below 0C so it seems that winter finally decided to come. Still I would welcome a little bit more cold and a LOT more snow πŸ˜€

    • Many thanks, Tomas! Even before I actually got the image, I knew of the title. I’d never seen the frost look like this on the window…as if the cold came in so quickly that a water drop was frozen as it was falling. I much prefer when titles reveal themselves this easily instead of the times when I am ready to post and can’t think of a thing! πŸ™‚

      I would gladly send you the cold! This is simply too cold. I would rather snow and slightly warmer temps. This kind of cold chills you straight to your bones and even hurts at times. Perfect time to hibernate!

  12. Tracy, this photo is fabulous, I’ve never seen ice crystals like these, and never so superbly beautiful as these. More, please!

    • Thank you so much, Truels! πŸ™‚

      If Mother Nature obliges, so will I!

  13. This is a wonderful image. The hanging crystals really give this a different feel from most and your adjustment of the white balance is a great move for the coolness you were after. Really very nice.

    • Thanks so much, Steve! After seeing the ice and crystal images on your blog I am honored you tookt he time to comment on mine! So very glad you like it! πŸ™‚

      • The pleasure is all mine, Tracy. It is one special frosty gem of an image. My only complaint is I’d like to see it large and on a wall somewhere. πŸ™‚

      • You are very kind, Steve.

        Now, as for the ‘seeing it large and on a wall somewhere’, well all my images are, of course, for sale. πŸ˜‰

  14. I love ice photos. Interesting use of that filter, too. Beautifully done.

    • Thank you, Burst! I look at this as a ‘make lemonade out of lemons’ sort of image. Ice crystals on our windows isn’t exactly a good thing so why not make art out of it? I mean, Mother Nature took the time to paint these beauties so I simply had to photograph them! πŸ™‚

  15. Beautiful, Tracy. πŸ™‚

  16. This is sooo good! You really have an eye for beautiful decorations.
    And you have winter too. We have just touched temperatures around freezing point here in Denmark. It will probably get colder the next days but not much.

    • Many thanks, Carsten! πŸ™‚

      I do find it so much easier to create a good image when I am inspired! I just knew there was something there in that falling crystal. Took awhile to achieve what I wanted, but so worth it!

      We had a little snow today which meant warmer temps – phew! Alas, it won’t last though as rain is moving in and will wash away all the pretty whiteness. Winter is fickle in the Northeast!

  17. Wow, this looked more like an abstract painting than a photo. Very nice.

    • Thank you, Sean!

      (BTW….nice to see you back posting on your blog. πŸ™‚ )

      • My photos started skewing heavy towards the kids, no need to put the internet through that. πŸ™‚ I’ve gotten more time recently to take shots of other things.

  18. Amazing!!

  19. Absolutely gorgeous, Tracy. Just beautiful. You composition is perfect. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Katie! Very nice of you to say!

      I feel far, far away from this photo today as I am fortunate enough to have escaped for a few days to warmer weather! πŸ™‚

  20. Fantastic shot!

  21. Very Creative….well done!!! That shot would do very well with a stock agency.

    • Thank you, Jim!

      I’ve never submitted to a stock agency. Any tips or advice to offer?

  22. Icy art. Have noted the WB tip…will give it a try as I am still searching for a good frost image.

    • What else could I do? πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll find one, Scott!

  23. This is absolutely gorgeous – it looks like some sort of fantasy sky. Beautiful!

  24. So beautiful and so peaceful. It is difficult to make such a clear photo of crystals. IsnΒ΄t is amazing to think of, that every crystal is unique? Sometimes one just canΒ΄t grasp numbers. The good thing about this is the endless amount of new models all the time, – so you can keep sitting in your pyjamas by the window as long as you like and never get bored….

    • Thank you, Brigitte! Even your comments are poetic and insightful! I like your thinking…beauty is all around us and can even be found while wearing PJ’s. Mother nature is indeed amazing!

  25. Now that sure does look just a tad bit chilly (and amazing)… If you need me, I’ll be sitting in front of the fire…

  26. This is really cool, I love what you did here!

  27. Great idea and wonderful photo!


Leave a Reply

