Skip navigation


The baby red squirrels are growing up fast! (At the bottom of this post you’ll find a link to watch video of the babies!)

But first, here’s a quick recap of events so far this week: 

Day 1: I notice a single Baby Red poking its head out of the entrance hole of the birdhouse. 

Day 2: Two Baby Reds play hide ‘n seek with me but do not venture outside of house. 

Day 3: I discover there are three Baby Reds! Watch them play with each other and explore all over birdhouse. 

Which brings us to Day 4: Alpha Baby Red leaves house and begins to explore yard! 🙂

Momma Red was not around at the time and I was obviously anxious to see what would happen when the two met up. I was not disappointed! When Alpha Baby saw Momma, s/he immediately ran up and gave her a great big hug!

Awwwwww. ♥

“Red Reunion” (Adult Female American Red Squirrel with Juvenile) Nikon D300, 460mm, F/6.7, 1/100s, -0.3EV, ISO 2500

Alpha Baby stayed out of the house for the entire day but did return in early evening. 

Here is a tender moment shared between siblings:

“Little Red Kiss” (Juvenile American Red Squirrels) Nikon D300, 380mm, F/6.3, 1/320s, ISO 2000, Silver Efex Pro ‘Antique Plate II’ Filter

Double awwwwww. ♥ ♥ 

Now, for a ‘Feel-Good-Moment-of-the-Day’, clickhere to watch video! 😀

33 Comments

  1. Very Very Very Cute!!!! I love them both!!!!

  2. Very fun. Nice shots. The color image is just awesome.

    I checked out the video, those guys are certainly active!

    • Thanks, Sean! You really can’t capture the true feeling on camera…the scene was simply magical to watch. So much furry little love for Momma! 🙂

      I am so glad I shot the video when I did since I never could have imagined that would be the only time I’d catch the three together at the house. Active?? OMG, YES!! Now you can see why they are so very difficult to photograph! They don’t stay in one place for more than a millisecond! Remind you of your kids?? 😉

      • Lol, yes. They go go go until they are completely out of energy. There is no middle ground.

  3. Awwww ♥ is right! 🙂
    The video is adorable, too. Sara watched it with me, and loved it.

  4. They are SO cute!
    🙂

  5. OMG! You’re having so much fun with these little guys. They are adorable and you’re doing a great job of capturing them.

    • I am, but it looks like the adventure may be over since the house was empty today and only Momma Red was out and about in the yard as usual. Waiting to see if the brood returns tonight!

      Thank you, Jan! 😀

  6. Oh, they are just delightful! I haven’t seen a squirrel in the flesh since 1989 in England. The birds sound nice where you are too.

    • Thanks! So glad you are enjoying them as much as I am!

      I like the birds….could do without the loud motorcycles! 😀

  7. I loved these!!!! Great job again and I also really enjoyed the video.

  8. Ha – While watching the video, I couldn’t stop thinking about the term we used to use ‘squirrelly’, one stop beyond being antsy. I suppose now all the baby reds would be diagnosed with ADHD and placed on medication.

  9. I saw the video, and realized that if they were in my garden, I would probably be watching them constantly. They are so funny, and I must say they move really fast. Did you make the video with your D300?

    • Ha! I did watch them just about constantly for 3 days! Just when I realized I probably needed to get on with other things, the Baby Reds made the decision for me as, now, they have moved on. It is amazing to me that they can go from being only inside the house to being completely on their own in such a short time span! Momma Red is still around and we hold out hope we’ll see the babies around the yard again. Thanks, Birgitte! 🙂

      Noooo, my D300 doesn’t shoot video. I used our digital HD video camera for that. 🙂

  10. Haha.. That video is four minutes of pure cutified fluffy entertainment… I think you should have added a humorous voice over for each of the squirrels though.. Now that would have been hilarious…

    • Isn’t it?? I’m glad you enjoyed it Brian! Thanks! 🙂

      That would have been hilarious! Not enought time in my day to script such a thing! The Benny Hill theme probably would have worked, too!

  11. I agree, voice over for the squirrels would be great! I think Brian should do it for you! 😉 Then we’d get to hear his English accent too. I’m thinking a Monty Python sort of thing would result!

    I love the mama-baby hug shot. So sweet!

    • Ha! Monty Python…Benny Hill…all in the same vein and I agree, an English accent would be perfect!

      Thank you, Karma! 🙂

  12. Thanks for your stories about the squirrel kids – and the video as well! That house – is it a birds house conquered by this family – or have you made it for squirrels??

    • You’re so very welcome, Truels! The house is indeed a birdhouse commandeered by the red squirrels (they are so small that they can fit through the entrance hole!). This particular one I did not build (but I have built others). I found this gorgeous house on clearance at a discount home store about 4 years ago during the Christmas holiday season and knew I just had to have it! The babies are gone now and we are unsure if Momma will keep living in the house or move on to another nest. Stay tuned… 🙂

  13. OMG soooo cute. You’re so lucky to have this little family to watch. Adorable video 🙂

    • Alas, the babies have moved out and onto their own little lives. So glad I have LOTS of photos and video to remember them by! Thanks, Amber! I do consider myself very lucky to have been able to be a part of this little wildlife adventure! 😀

  14. Oh, Tracy, you have softened my hard heart! 🙂 I have a whole new appreciation for these little critters!

    • Ha! That’s excellent to hear, Chris! Thanks! 🙂

      If you’re interested, their abosolute favorite treats are peanuts in the shell. I’m just saying… 😉

  15. Boy you sure find some lovely things to photograph, Tracy. The last photo in this group is beautiful. Love the treatment you gave it. The only little thing is it does seem to need straightening. Just my opinion.

    • Thanks, Dave!

      See? Right here is what I love about this blog! Leave it to you, Dave, to point out the crookedness of the last image. I did actually go so far as to straighten and crop it only to then decide, ‘you know what? THIS right here will remind me to pay better attention next time’. I’ve always been a huge fan of the Amish perspective that, only God is perfect. I am such a perfectionist in life, to the point that it can be exhausting. This time I just let it be and since the world didn’t fall to pieces, I guess it was okay. Don’t get me wrong…I do get what you are saying and there is still a part of me that SO WANTS TO FIX IT, but I won’t. Accept me, accept my flaws. 😀

  16. 1. the color in their fur is awesome.
    2. i see bamboo fencing and i like it!
    3. the treatment on the second shot is awesome.
    4. sorry i’m so behind, but a certain unemployed slacker has started interning for a judge and no longer sits all day at home (and is quite unhappy about it!)

    • With your eye for detail, you are going to make an excellent lawyer, Stephen! 🙂

      Thanks! Oh and also, thanks for noticing the bamboo fence! That image wouldn’t have been as nice with a yucky chainlink behind the adorable pair.

      Yeah, growing up is not as much fun as one would imagine… 😉


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] not as adorable as Tracy’s recent shots, I thought it was pretty cool to have a little red squirrel  showing up on my deck for a couple […]

Leave a Reply

